top of page

CATEGORIES

TAGS

Search

Filipinas brace for one last push for a ticket to Women's Asian Cup in India


With a win in the bag thanks to a last-gasp goal from Camille Wilson against Nepal, the Philippine Women's National Football Team are now gearing for their final test to see if they will make it to the 2022 AFC Women's Asian Cup in India when they face Hong Kong on September 24, 2021.


The half-time adjustments by coach Marlon Maro paved way for a barrage of attacks from the Filipinas which put Nepal under immense pressure. Heading into Friday's game, Maro will be looking for a different approach against Hong Kong.


"We will prepare against Hong Kong by trying to contain their defense and denying their transition from defense to attack, through our analysis and the players executing the game plan during training," said Maro when asked about his plans for the big showdown.

While the pressure is there for the Filipinas, it is still a tournament to savor for the likes of debutant Chandler McDaniel and Wilson who both produced the late heroics the Filipinas needed to win their first match.


"It was definitely surreal just being back on the pitch with the Philippine National Team. It was also just an amazing experience getting the winning goal. Getting the cross from Camille Rodriguez, it's funny because it's the 'Cam duo' making the play," said Wilson.


She also added, "Immediately when I got back at the hotel, I got a text message from my parents saying how proud they were of me. My mom telling me how proud and how well I played. It's definitely amazing to feel this way."


McDaniel shared her experience on how she got into the team and more interestingly, how hard she fought for a place in the squad. "I've actually been at every single US camp since I was 14. It's been a long time coming. There's been a lot of ups and downs, there have definitely been times when I didn't think I wanted to come back but I think it just shows that God has a plan for me," said McDaniel.


Talking about the equalizer that came from her assist, McDaniel said, "Our center-back Hali just looked to me and said 'there are eight minutes left,' and I knew that it was on my shoulders as the main forward to get it going. I just started high-pressing, I tried to get the ball every chance I could, I finally got the ball from Hali, I took the girl on the wing and I sent in the cross, luckily T (Tahnai Annis) was there.


Now that the first game is behind them, the veterans are now expected to take over and carry the team across the finish line. Ahead of their match against Hong Kong, Co-captain Hali Long said, "Being seated at the top of our group, we have everything to lose here and they don't have anything to lose so we'll just treat them as new competition, play our game, not take any team lightly. We'll just have to see this Friday."


They also don't plan to underestimate Hong Kong who only played once against them in a friendly back in 2019. "Having only played Hong Kong once, I don't think we can judge them too much off of that."


The Filipinas will have confidence on their side ahead of their match against Hong Kong as they sit at the top of the standings in their group after Hong Kong drew their match against Nepal. Friday's showdown will determine whether the Philippines will get their second consecutive qualification to the women's Asian Cup or will Hong Kong prevent them from doing so.

コメント


QUICK DEALS

bottom of page